Hay River takes three banners at NWT champs

School teams gathered on Hay River ice over the weekend to compete in the 2010 NWT School Curling Championships, the tenth event of its kind.

The tournament was divided into four divisions based on age and experience level. The winner of each division was given an official banner to hang at their home rink.
Competing in the D-division, also known as the “little rockers,” were the youngest curlers. The Hay River Reintjes team took their banner, with the Buboire team from Fort Simpson and the Bird team from Fort Smith bringing up second and third.
Hay River’s Sperry team won the banner for the C-division, followed by Hay River’s Blake team, the Nearysoo team from Inuvik, and the Mandeville team from Hay River.
The B-division banner was taken by the Cooper team from Hay River, followed by the Leader team from Fort Simpson, Yellowknife’s Yurris team, and the Lafferty team from Fort Simpson.
Hay River had two teams in the A-division, but the banner went to Fort Smith’s Bird team. Hay River’s Moizis team (the same girls who went to the Nationals earlier this year) came in second, and the Kruger boys’ team came in third.
Coach Gary Hoffman said the tournament went very well.
“From all indications, it was just great,” he said. “Everyone was having a lot of fun – there were smiles everywhere.”
As a diversion from the regular tournament, the teams competed in a Bite the Button game. This initiative qualified the tournament for the GNWT and the Aboriginal Sport Circle’s Right to Dream, which provides Olympic apparel for sports organizations who show initiative in their programming. Curlers went home with Olympic touques.
“The kids were totally impressed,” said Hoffman. “After they got those touques they wouldn’t take them off.”
Next up for the Curling Club is the NWT Mixed Territorial Championships from Feb. 25 to 28.