Hay River minor hockey enjoys ‘fantastic’ season, says association president

“It was a fantastic year, really good volunteers and great group of kids,” he said.
Curtis Rowe, Peewee and midget coach, said, despite the the coaching change halfway through the season, the team had a successful season.
“They really pulled together, and had a great second half of the season,” he said.
The Keith Broadhead Award, new this year, was given to players who really demonstrated the spirit of the game of hockey.  The winners were Ben Squirell in the midget division, PAtrick Smith in the Bantam division, Nicholas Stainbrook in Peewee division and Abby Webster in the Atom division.
Another winner was Sean Gilbert, midget defenceman who took home the Matthew Taylor Memorial Award.
“I was really surprised,” he said.