AWG bound

Of the NWT athletes that made the roster during this year’s trials for the 2012 Arctic Winter Games, 33 hail from Hay River as team members and alternates. Here are the names of the local athletes who will be competing in the 2012 Arctic Winter Games in Whitehorse from March 4-10:

Figure Skating: Shauna Cooper made ladies level 3 team.

Men’s Basketball: Skylar Courtoreille

Biathlon Ski: Junior Male: Christopher Lirette and Andrew Lirette. Junior Female: Angeline Magtibay.

Juvenile Male: Jared LeBlanc.

Biathlon Snowshoe: Junior Male: Clell Crook. Juvenile Male: Kjel Crook. Juvenile Female: Michaela Crook.

Bantam Hockey: Nicholas Stainbrook, Calvin King, Joel Demarcke, Bryden Patenaude, Levon Schumann, Donovan Simpson-Perron, and Skylar Constant, with Evan Smith as alternate.

Midget Hockey: Luke Daigneault, Jeffery Groenheyde, and alternate Patrick Smith.

Female Hockey: Bryn Hill and Jasmin Marshall.

Women’s Volleyball: Alysa Gallardo

Men’s Volleyball: Andre Leblanc and alternate Chevy Beaulieu.

Soccer: No Hay Riverites made the Juvenile Female soccer team, but Krista Painchaud and Sylvia Hiebert will be on standby as alternates.

Badminton: Junior Male: Sean Aitken. junior female: Skylar Horton, with alternate Mercedie Beaulieu.

Juvenile Male: Drake Roberts, Juvenile Female: Brooke Schaefer.

Snowboarding: Juvenile Male: Zachary Boss.

Snowshoeing: Junior Male: Ian Keefe.

Speed Skating: Juvenile Male: Kaed Blake.

Table Tennis: Junior Male: Walker Norwegian and Daniel Huang.

Juvenile Male: Alex Huang.

Wrestling: both Benoit Lamy and Ty Buchanan made the team as alternates.

For more information, visit