Six vie to represent Hay River


Lawn signs have been sprouting up amid the snow as Hay River gears up to elect its representatives in the legislative assembly.

When the nomination period closed the afternoon of Oct. 30, there were three candidates in Hay River North and Hay River South.

The two districts divide the community, with the border cutting through the town centre.

Candidates have been opening their campaign offices, launching social media pages and knocking on doors in various parts of the community.

As well, four candidates are vying to represent the Deh Cho, which includes Enterprise and K’atl’odeeche First Nation.

A total of 60 people put their names forward across the 19 districts in the territory for the Nov. 23 election, 10 of them female.

“That’s great for the Northwest Territories electorate as a whole,” said Nicole Latour, NWT chief electoral officer, of the number of candidates running.

There were 47 candidates in the 2011 territorial election.

Jackson Lafferty, a minister in the last government, was acclaimed in the riding of Monfwi as he was the only one who put forward nomination papers.

In the last election, three were acclaimed.


Early voting begins next week

Early voting for both districts will last from Nov. 11 to Nov. 21 at the Elections NWT office in the Wright Centre.

Election day will see voters in north and south districts able to cast ballots at the Don Stewart Recreation Centre from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Voters in the K’atl’odeeche First Nation have advance voting at the Chief Lamalice Complex on Nov. 16 from noon to 7 p.m.

Election day voting will take place at the same Chief Lamalice Complex from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In the 19 districts, local returning officers are hired, Latour said.

They administer the election in those areas, including hiring staff for election day.

In the 2011 general election, she estimated there were 250 people hired across the territory to work the polling stations.

In Hay River North, the ballot will include incumbent Robert Bouchard, R.J. Simpson and Karen Felker.

In Hay River South, it will have incumbent Jane Groenewegen, Brian Willows and Wally Schumann.

In the Deh Cho, incumbent Michael Nadli is being challenged by Ronald Bonnetrouge, Lyle Fabian and Gregory Nyuli.

Note to readers: In today’s paper you’ll also find more profiles of candidates. We’ve also asked each candidate to answer a few questions. We’ll print their answers in the lead-up to the election.